The MPIDR is one of the 80 Institutes of the renowned Max Planck Society. The Directors of the Institute are Mikko Myrskylä and Emilio Zagheni. Like all Max Planck Institutes, the MPIDR has an Scientific Advisory Board, who evaluate the scientific work of the Institute; and it has a Board of Trustees, who strengthen the dialogue between the Institute and the public. Science lives from partnerships and collaboration with other institutions. Thus, the MPIDR is embedded in a strong network of research institutes, and contributes to several joint projects, institutions, and publications.