Scientific Advisory Board

The role of the Scientific Advisory Board is to advise the Directors and staff members of the Institute. The Board evaluates the work of the Institute every three years. They make recommendations, and signal whether changes in Institute activities are called for. All members of the Scientific Advisory Board are internationally recognized scientists. They are appointed by the President of the Max Planck Society. The current members of the Scientific Advisory Board are:

Prof. Noreen Goldman, Hughes-Rogers Professor of Demography
and Public Affairs, Princeton University, USA

Prof. Jane Falkingham, Dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences, Professor of Demography and International Social Policy, Director of ESRC Centre for Population Change, University of Southampton, UK

Prof. Filiz Garip, Director of the Center for the Study of Economy and Society, Cornell University, USA

Nico Keilman, PhD, Professor Emeritus, Department of Economics, University of Oslo, Norway

Thomas LeGrand, PhD, Professor Emeritus in the Department of Demography at the University of Montréal, Canada

Prof. M. Giovanna Merli, Professor of Public Policy and Sociology and a member of the Sanford School of Public Policy, Duke University, USA

Prof. Dr.  Leo van Wissen, Professor Economic Demography, Faculty of Spatial Sciences, University of Groningen, The Netherlands

The Max Planck Institute for Demographic Research (MPIDR) in Rostock is one of the leading demographic research centers in the world. It's part of the Max Planck Society, the internationally renowned German research society.